Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Cartoon Contest Winners.

" Elections: Celebrating democracy
Cartoon Contest conducted by the
Ernakulam Press Club, Kerala Cartoon Academy  and
the US Consulate General, Chennai .

Awards for the Cartoon Contest conducted by  Kerala Cartoon Academy  , Ernakulam Press Club and US Consulate, Chennai, have been distributed today at a function held at Maharajas College, Ernakulam.. The winners, V.R RAGESH( Madhyamam), Siva ( Malayala Manorama) and T.S Santhosh  were given the awards by American Cartoonist Daryl Cagle .  The Principal of Maharajas College , Dr. Mary Metilda inaugurated the function in which famous American cartoonist Daryl Cagle presented American political cartoons followed by a talk. Maharaja’s college political science dept. head Dr Moni Susan Thomas, presided the function. Prof  N Remakanthan ,Cartoonist Balu,Cartoonist Sudheer Nath,Jayaraj Vellur  and  Dr P Anikumar, attended the function.  

Cartoonist Balu, Dr Moni Susan Thomas,Dr. Mary Metilda, Prof  N Remakantha and Cartoonist Daryl Cagle.

Dr Moni Susan Thomas
Siva ( Malayala Manorama)

V.R RAGESH( Madhyamam)

Santhosh T S

Santhosh T S

Shiva, Cartoonist, Malayala Manorama

V R Ragesh , Cartoonist, Madhyamam Daily
Winning cartoons were selected by the noted American cartoonist Daryl Cagle who is on a visit to India sponsored by the US State Department. Prizes worth Rs. 5000/- each were distributed at the function held at Ernakulam Maharaja’s college at 2.30 pm. on the 12th September 2012, attended by cartooning students, cartoon friendly students of Kerala's most famous and ancient college and well known cartoonists in Kerala.